Darren Weir announces Sooboog's retirement from racing

May 20, 2017

Darren Weir has made the tough decision to retire the Group 1 bound son of Snitzel, Sooboog. This comes following the entire succumbing to a bout of travel sickness on Friday while travelling to Queensland for a tilt at the Group 1 Doomben 10,000.

This has been disappointing news for the owners and breeding entitlement holders of Sooboog who were optimistic of pushing forward towards the Group 1 Kingsford Smith Cup, however with such a strong book of mares already locked in for the 2017 season, Sooboog’s health was always paramount.

Weir was today rueing at what might have been, “It’s extremely disappointing for us as we had primed him for both the Doomben 10,000 and Kingsford Smith Cup Gr1 (BTC Cup). However, after arriving in Queensland on the Friday before his first Gr1 assignment, he was found to have a high temperature. He had trialled in great order last week and now 3rd up, we were starting to see his fitness levels peak as they did when he won the Aurie’s Star (Gr3 1200mtr) up the straight at Flemington. The stable would like to thank Tim Stakemire on behalf of Sheikh Mohammed Bin Khalifa, Kitchwin Hills and their clients for the opportunity to train Sooboog. We wish the team the best of luck on his next chapter as a stallion, on type he is one in of a kind, a must see. His turn of foot often left us dazzled.”

Kitchwin Hills Stud Manager Michael Malone was initially disappointed with the outcome of his preparation knowing a strong Group 1 performance was near, however the opportunity for him to have an extended spell prior to the season was a bonus. “Ideally we would have loved to run in those races like the Group 1 Kingsford Smith Cup, but getting the horse home healthy and giving him every opportunity to let down and be ready for what’s shaping as a full first season was most important.”

Sooboog is currently spelling in Queensland before arrangements are made for his return to the Hunter Valley to commence his Stud duties later in 2017.